hotels - book a hotel anywhere in Cuba
English Español Français Русский Português Türkçe بهاس ملاي Cрпски Slovenščina Deutsch Dutch Hrvatski Italiano 한국어 日本語 简体中文 Український Polski României Latvijas Čeština عربى
Home :: Hotels :: My Account :: My Basket
Travel Guide - Mayabeque, Cuba
The Mayabeque Province takes its (native indian) name from both the river Mayabeque, the largest in the region, & Playa Mayabeque on the south coast. The latter most importantly, historically, being the site of the original San Cristóbal de La Habana settlement of 1514.

The fertile Mayabeque river valley became ecomically prosperous, to the extent that in 1837 it had the first railway in all of Latin America. This in turn allowed the region to become Cuba's first major sugar industry power house, with upto 94 refineries.

The Mayabeque province has a population of 381,446. The provincial capital, San José de las Lajas, is the most populous municipality with more than 74,000 inhabitants. The other 10 municipalities are Bejucal, Jaruco, Santa Cruz del Norte, Madruga, Nueva Paz, San Nicolás de Bari, Güines, Melena del Sur, Batabanó & Quivicán.
Situated between Varadero and Havana and surrounded by rolling hills and scenic countryside, Jibacoa is still unspoilt and the region's best kept secret. Its stunning beaches & sheer peace make it the perfect place to unwind and enjoy life in the Cuban sunshine.

The normally tranquil Jibacoa beach is where the Cuban electronic music festival, Rotilla, is held each year.

Travel Guides by Province
UK Sales :: Audrey :: +44 20 7498 8555 or 0800 298 9555
USA & Canada Sales :: Jeffery or Bastien :: Toll Free 888 361 9555
Havana Tourist Center :: Idelsis :: +53 7 863 9555
(less than 10 days)
Powered by Bizloco eTravel System operated by Cubaism Ltd for
© 2012 Nigel Hunt - All Rights Reserved.